We Can Help!
The Law Office of Lee Meadows has over 36 years assisting people needing guidance regarding Fake ID’s in Florida.
Persons under the age of 21 in Florida will often use a fake, false, or altered driver’s license or identification card to purchase alcohol or gain entry into a bar, club, or other establishments where you have to be 21 to enter.
Such persons will purchase or make their own driver’s license or identification card with an altered or forged date of birth or use the driver’s license or identification card belonging to a sibling or friend over the age of 21 who they resemble. While it may seem that “everyone is doing it,” that doesn’t mean that such actions aren’t against the law.
Unauthorized Possession of a Driver’s License or ID Card in Florida
- It is a felony in Florida for a person to have in their possession a driver’s license or identification card that is stolen, fake, counterfeit, forged, fraudulent or unlawfully issued. Violation of this law is a felony offense that is punishable by up to five years in prison and a $5000 fine. In addition, you may be subject to a disciplinary hearing at your school, even if the crime occurred off campus.
Other Related Fake ID Laws in Florida
- It is a second-degree misdemeanor crime in Florida to use someone else’s driver’s license or state issued identification card.
- It is a second degree misdemeanor crime in Florida to let another person borrow your driver’s license or state issued identification card.
- It is a first degree misdemeanor in Florida to identify yourself to a police officer with a fake or false driver’s license or identification card.
If you or your child has been charged with violating any of these laws, it is important to take these charges seriously and hire a criminal defense attorney. After all, being convicted of these offenses can carry significant criminal consequences that can irreparably change your life.
For more information please visit:
Copyright © 2018, The Law Office of Lee Meadows, LLC.