What is the legal age required to purchase vaping products?
Similar to buying tobacco products, the legal age is 18 in order to obtain vaping devices and pods. Ironically, a large percentage of vape users are high school students, which are legally prohibited from purchasing and using e-cigarettes. This means that many locations are distributing nicotine products without checking IDs or students are creating fake IDs at earlier ages. In addition to the penalties associated with possession of a fake ID, minors in possession of a JUUL may be subject to criminal penalties and community service requirements.
Where can you vape?
Since July 1st, an indoor vaping ban has been integrated into the Florida Clean Indoor Air Act of 1985. The addition is meant to prevent secondhand smoke from affecting the health of nearby individuals, and is similar to the law created in 2003 that prohibits smoking tobacco from indoor workplaces. Indoor smoking is only accepted inside of private residences, retail tobacco shops, and specific bars or hotel rooms with marked, designated smoking sections. A violation of the Florida Clean Indoor Air Act is a second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days imprisonment or a $500 fine.
Criminal charges and convictions can stay with you for the rest of your life. This may affect your chances for admission into college, current standing with your university, future job prospects, or eligibility for professional licensure. As a result, if you or your child is charged with a smoking related offense, it is very important that you protect your future by obtaining the best legal counsel. If you have any questions, please call the Law Office of Lee Meadows to schedule a free consultation.